The tenth and final Rare Spares Legend Award winner will be announced at Street Machine Summernats 30

Summernats legend award

IT’S VERY nearly Street Machine Summernats time, and the 2017 event is set to be a big one – and not just because it’s the Nats’ 30th anniversary. On the Saturday night, the 10th and final Rare Spares Legend Award will be handed out.

Summernats Legend Award 3“In 2008 we created the Rare Spares Legend Award to recognise the lifetime achievements of those that have given great levels of dedication not only to the motor industry but also within the car enthusiasts’ community,” Melissa McVeigh of Rare Spares said. “We will be inducting the final Legend, who will stand alongside previous recipients Rod Hadfield, Howard Astill, Chic Henry, Owen Webb, Peter Fitzpatrick, Geoff Seddon, the late John Taverna, Drago Ostric and Tony O’Donnell.”

Summernats Legend Award 2The winner will be announced on the main arena after the Supercruise on Saturday evening, and will then be given a lap of honour around the arena, along with many of the previous nine inductees.

Each legend receives their own exclusive gold helmet designed and painted by well-known artist John Kral – a great way to honour someone who’s worked for the betterment of our sport.

Who will win the final Rare Spares Legend award? You’ll have to be at Summernats 30 to find out.


How are you finding our new site design? Tell us in the comments below or send us your thoughts at


Subscribe to Street Machine magazine

Subscribe to Street Machine and save up to 39%
Street Machine is the bible of Aussie modified auto culture, celebrating wild muscle cars, customs and hot rods – and the incredible humans who create them.



We recommend


Tesla Delorean

Meet the man who wants to run his DeLorean on Tesla motors

If you're gonna build an EV, why not do it with some style?

a day ago
Jordan Mulach
Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.