Powered by
  • WheelsWheels
  • 4X4 Australia4X4 Australia
  • Street MachineStreet Machine
  • Trade Unique CarsTrade Unique Cars


By Simon Telford, 25 Aug 2016 Features


It is a tough club to join – meet the 28 previous SMOTY winners

THE 2016 Valvoline Street Machine Of The Year competition is well underway, with 16 of the finest Street Machine feature cars from the past 12 months in the running to win the famous trophy and a $20,000 cheque from Valvoline.

What makes SMOTY unique is that the outcome is determined solely by you guys. Judges’ points, quarter-mile times, horsepower figures and price tags don’t come into it – the winner is simply the car that captures the zeitgeist and claims the most votes.

And as you can see from the list of previous winners, you’ve chosen a wide variety of cars over the years. Of the 28 SMOTY winners, we’ve had 18 Holdens, six Fords, three Chevs and one lonely Mopar. Contrary to popular opinion in some quarters, you don’t necessarily need a mountain of metal hanging out the bonnet to be a winner – in fact, more than half of our previous SMOTY champs have kept their horsepower concealed firmly below the bonnet line. Hot rods and trad customs haven’t had a look in so far, but just about every other genre of chrome-bumper street machine has had at least one win, ranging from outrageous show cars to pro street monsters and street-neat cruisers.

This year’s range of contenders is just as eclectic, and as Nathan Booth’s home-built HR ute demonstrated last year, the winner could surprise you. So check out the cars and cast your vote – just for exercising your democratic right, you could win a VIP trip for two to Street Machine Summernats 30, including $1000 spending money. Happy voting! 


1998-alan -cooper -hq -ute1988: Alan Cooper's HQ ute

1989-dave -bennett -hq -monaro1989 - Dave Bennett's HQ Monaro - RAT ATTACK

1990-ron -barclay -hq -ute1990 - Ron Barclay's HQ ute

4-1991-craig -parker -xy -fairmont1991 - Craig Parker's XY Fairmont

5-1992-frank -piccolo -ford -xb -falcon1992 - Frank Piccolo's XB Falcon GT

6-1993-Frank -Rejtano -1964-chevrolet -corvette1993 -  Frank Rejtano's 1964 Corvette

7-1994-Colin -Townsend -Holden -FJ1994 - Colin Townsend's FJ Holden

8-1995-Darryl -Mc Beth -FJ-Holden1995 - Darryl McBeth's FJ Holden

9-1995-Howard -Astill -Ford -XA-Falcon1995 - Howard Astill's XA Falcon

10-1996-John -Riskas -1955-Chev1996 - John Riskas's 1955 Chev

11-Bill -Murfin -HT-Monaro1997 - Bill Murfin's HT Monaro

12-1998-Ed -Brodie -HJ-Holden1998-99 - Ed Brodie's HJ Holden

13-2000-Alan -Lucas -HQ-Monaro2000 - Alan 'Bundy' Lucas's HQ Monaro

14-Gary -Myers -Mustang2001 - Gary Myers's 1966 Mustang GM176


2002 Mark Jones 57 Chev2002 - Mark Jones's 1957 Chev FAT57

16-2003-Adam -Le Brese -EH-Holden2003 - Adam LeBrese's EH Holden

17-2004-Steve -Leerentveld -LJ-Torana2004 - Steve Leerentveld's LJ Torana

18-Gary -Myers -1966-Mustang2005 - Gary Myers's 1966 Mustang

Adam-Barbaresco-Donny-Kevric-Holden-HK-Monaro2006 - Adam Barbaresco & Donny Kevric's HK Monaro

21-2007-Mark -Sullivan -HK-Monaro2007 - Mark Sullivan's HK Monaro

22-2008-Rob -Godfrey -HQ-One -Tonner2008 - Rob Godfrey's HQ One-Tonner

23-2009-Angela -Dow -LX-Torana2009 - Angela Dow's LX Torana

24-2010-Graeme -Cowin -Plymouth -Barracuda2010 - Graeme Cowin's Plymouth Barracuda

25-Peter -Fitzpatrick -FC-Holden2011 - Peter Fitzpatrick's FC Holden

26-2012-Adam -Le Brese -XC-Falcon2012 - Adam LeBrese's XC Falcon

27-2013-Mick -Fabar -XR-Falcon2013 - Mick Fabar's XR Falcon

28-2014-Henry -Parry -FB-Holden2014 - Henry Parry's FB Holden

29-2015-Nathan -Booth -HR-Holden -ute2015 - Nathan Booth's HR Holden ute

2016 - Chris and Colleen Bitmead's XBOSS XB Falcon hardtop

2017 - Gary Myers's XA Falcon Hardtop AGROXA