Powered by
  • WheelsWheels
  • 4X4 Australia4X4 Australia
  • Street MachineStreet Machine
  • Trade Unique CarsTrade Unique Cars

Mercedes naming system to change

By Scott Newman, 14 Nov 2014 News

Mercedes naming system to change

New badges set to appear from next year

Mercedes is altering its naming system in an attempt to de-mystify its burgeoning range.

Its five core model ranges – A-, B-, C-, E- and S-Class – will remain, while its expanding SUV range will known as the GL-series, with the final letter representing how it corresponds to the relevant core model range.

From next year, Merc's smallest SUV will be known as the GLA, the GLK becomes the GLC the popular ML becomes the GLE – with a X6-like Coupe version joining the range in the near future – and the gargantuan GL becomes GLS – I.e the S-Class of the Mercedes off-road range.

In 2016, a new roadster will be launched, known as the SLC, replacing the current SLK, though its larger drop-top sibling will remain the SL.

Here's where it gets more complex. Names such as CDI (for diesel) or Bluetec Hybrid (for, well, hybrid) are a thing of the past, replaced by d for diesel, e for electric, h for hybrid and f for fuel cell, though that last one is probably a while off.

Oddly, Mercedes has dropped any reference to petrol models engine displacement. For a handy visual example, see the images above.