Powered by
  • WheelsWheels
  • 4X4 Australia4X4 Australia
  • Street MachineStreet Machine
  • Trade Unique CarsTrade Unique Cars

John Bowe to join Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame

By Chris Thompson, 10 Jan 2018 News

John Bowe to be inducted into motorsport hall of fame nw

Aussie racing legend to be inducted into the CAMS list of racing heroes

CAMS will award Australian racing legend John Bowe a place in the Motor Sport Hall of Fame this year, alongside the likes of Mark Webber, and more than a dozen other prominent motorsport personalities.

Bowe, who will be the 53rd inductee, currently races in the Touring Car Masters series, but became a household name during his time behind the wheel of a variety of Fords (and a Volvo!) in the Australian Touring Car Championship and the V8 Supercars series.

The two-time Bathurst 1000 winner and 1995 ATCC champion recently joined MOTOR on the Performance Car Podcast, on which he discussed his career and how he made it to where he is today.

He has also been a part of MOTOR’s most prestigious annual event, Performance Car of the Year, joining us as a judge for PCOTY 2017.

Of his induction into the CAMS MSHoF, Bowe says it’s ‘humbling’ to be recognised as a hero of the motorsport world.

“To be honest, I am slightly overwhelmed,” Bowe says.

“When you are 35 (years old) awards mean nothing, but to be recognised by the industry and your peers at this stage of my career is really very humbling.

John Bowe PCOTY 2017
“It has certainly been a great journey since I started racing a Formula Vee at Baskerville in Tasmania at the age of 15.

“I was proud to be included in the Supercars Hall of Fame, but to be recognised alongside the greatest this country has produced across all facets of the sport in the Australian Motor Sport Hall of Fame is something else.

John Bowe PCOTY 2017
“I have turned plenty of laps since those Baskerville days, but I still have a desire to be out there racing and being as competitive as possible.

“I am honoured to be included in this year’s list of inductees along with Mark Webber and I look forward to seeing the remaining 18 recipients awarded on the night, which really has become one of the highlights on the Australian motorsport calendar.”