Powered by
  • WheelsWheels
  • 4X4 Australia4X4 Australia
  • Street MachineStreet Machine
  • Trade Unique CarsTrade Unique Cars

2018 WhichCar Style Awards: An introduction

By WhichCar Staff, 23 Jan 2018 Car Style

2018 WhichCar Style Awards An introduction

One of these four finalists will be crowned by WhichCar’s panel of expert judges. Here’s what you need to know

The WhichCar Style Award are back! In 2018, WhichCar will once again crown Australia’s most aesthetically desirable new car.

We’re only a day away from announcing the winner at the Australian Motoring Awards in Melbourne, where one à la mode car will follow in the footsteps of the two previous winners – the Alfa Romeo 4C and the Audi A4 – but before then, here’s an introduction to the automotive style accolade for those unfamiliar with the process.

The WhichCar Style Award starts with a shortlist of the 12 most impressive new cars of the previous year, as selected by the motoring experts here at WhichCar. Those dozen contenders are then put to the readers in a public vote, which whittles the field down to a top four for the consideration of WhichCar’s panel of judges, who pick each one apart to find a winner. Here are this year’s four candidates, as voted by you…

2018 WhichCar Style Award Finalists

  1. Alfa Romeo Giulia
  1. Audi Q2
  1. Hyundai Kona
  1. Mercedes-Benz E-Class Coupe

Over the next few days we will take a closer look at each of the challengers, before the 2018 champion is announced on the evening of January 24. The winning car is the one that most comprehensively addressed the eight style award principles.

For 2018 the Style Award criteria was further refined in order to measure automotive style and design against the following benchmarks:

  1. X factor: Is the design trend-setting or simply following?
  2. Technology: Does the design introduce new features?
  3. Exterior: Does it break new ground in the segment?
  4. Interior: Does it break new ground in the segment?
  5. Cohesiveness: Do the exterior and interior elements harmonise?
  6. Quality: Does the use of colours, textures and materials create a sense of quality?
  7. Value: Does the vehicle represent good buying in the segment?
  8. Function: Is it fit for purpose and likely to meet expectations?

The panel of judges tasked with the difficult job of finding a winner for 2018 included automotive experts and style specialists from the fields of fashion and lifestyle, all drawn from WhichCar’s broad family of associated titles.

Paul Beranger: Automotive Design Consultant, former Head of Toyota Style Australia

Tanya Buchanan: Editor, Belle

Ryan Lewis: Online editor, Wheels and WhichCar

Amy Starr: Beauty and lifestyle associate, Elle

Emma Vidgen: Editor, Real Living

The 2018 WhichCar Style Award winner will be announced at the Australian Motoring Awards on January 25, along with the 2018 4x4 Australia 4x4 of the Year, 2018 Motor Performance Car of the Year, and the 2018 Wheels Car of the Year.

Check back at WhichCar.com.au on the evening of Wednesday, January 24 to find out which new car will be crowned the WhichCar Style Award winner for 2018.