Powered by
  • WheelsWheels
  • 4X4 Australia4X4 Australia
  • Street MachineStreet Machine
  • Trade Unique CarsTrade Unique Cars

New Audi naming convention ditches engine sizes

By David Bonnici, 24 Aug 2017 News

New Audi naming convention ditches engine sizes

Audi has devised new nomenclature to differentiate between variants based on power output with two-digit numbers

AUDI is changing the way it names model variants, with its new numeric system emphasising performance rather than engine size. Pay attention now, because Audi's new nomenclature is not exactly intuitive.

Primary model names such as A3 and Q7 will remain, but the variants within each model line will now be differentiated via a two digit number. That number will represent where it sits in the power output hierarchy, with additional suffixes to indicate engine type (including hybrid or electric powertrains), along with familiar terminology such as quattro or Sport.

This means the Audi A1 1.0 TFSI will be called the Audi A1 25 TFSI, with the 25 representing a power output up to 80kW. The Audi A1 1.4 TFSI Sport, meanwhile, will henceforth be known as the Audi A1 30 TFSI Sport, with the 30 denoting a power output between 81-96kW.

Increasing in increments of five, the number combinations are designed to create a defined hierarchy in each model range by identifying performance levels of both combustion and electrified powertrains.

“As alternative drive technologies become increasingly relevant, engine displacement as a performance attribute is becoming less important to our customers,” explained Audi AG sales and marketing board member Dr Dietmar Voggenreiter.

“The clarity and logic of structuring the designations according to power output makes it possible to distinguish between the various performance levels.”

The good doctor didn’t explain why the system starts at 25 or how the numbers relate to their power range, though it seems to be more an arbitrary move with no hard rules about how the power brackets are staggered.

Audi will begin to roll out the new nomenclature from mid next year starting with the all-new Audi A8, with the 210kW 3.0 TDI to be known as the Audi A8 50 TDI and the 250kW 3.0 TFSI the Audi A8 55 TFSI.

Existing models will also change for the 2018-19 European model year beginning in July 2018.

Performance designations such S and RS will remain in reference to their top position in the model range.

New Audi variant code

  • 25 = up to 80kW
  • 30 = 81-96kW
  • 35 = 110-120kW
  • 40 = 125-150kW
  • 45 = 169-185kW
  • 50 = 210-230kW
  • 55 = 245-275kW
  • 60 = 320-340kW
  • 70 = 400kW+